LABELLING  GLUTEN

LABELLING GLUTEN

Gluten is a proteinic fraction present in different cereals such as wheat, rye, or barley (Triticum species), even though cross-contamination it can also be found in oat. This protein triggers the symptomatology of coeliac disease in people who suffers from it, an illness with immunologic basis.

If a client wonders whether a food product contents gluten or not, he must read the Ingredients list. It should be indicated, in a different typography, the cereal present in the food and usually the word “gluten”. For instance: wheat flour (gluten).

Information on gluten content must always be provided to the consumer, before his purchase, either by the product’s label, or through internet if it is being sold online, in a sign if it is a bulk sell, and so on.

Regulation nº 828/2014 approves the statements “GLUTEN-FREE” and “VERY LOW GLUTEN” to be used in food products. We will analyze them in detail:

GLUTEN-FREE: it may only be used where the food as sold to the final consumer contains no more than 20 mg/kg of gluten. It can only be used if there are other products at the same category that do contain gluten, such as sauces, charcuterie, etc.

VERY LOW GLUTEN: it may only be made where the food, consisting of or containing one or more ingredients made from the cereals mentioned above have been specially processed to reduce the gluten content, contains no more than 100 mg/kg of gluten in the food as sold to the final consumer.

In the food supplements sector, as there are some products inside this category that do contain gluten, the references may be employed, but keeping in mind to ease the consumer’s understanding.